This is so random....

·

3 min read

Today is Friday. Thinking of how the last week went by, the only answer I have is interesting. Not interesting enough that I achieved great things. But it showed me that I enjoy doing SO.MANY.THINGS. This week had me being very hard on myself for not being able to manage time properly. I made a to do list daily and tried to follow it. Yeah it was not very successful, but it was useful to bring order into my otherwise chaotic day.

Trying new study techniques

I put new 2 study techniques to test. Active recall and imagining that you are explaining it to someone. They have proved to be very effective at least for the way I've done it for my courses this week. Scored well in 2 quizzes. What I did was just apply both these techniques to them. I write A LOT OF NOTES, while studying. I reduced that a bit and instead focused on understanding what exactly was happening. I still wrote a lot of notes but lesser than before.

Completion status in 2 courses

This was probably one of the biggest challenges I took over. I was falling behind in online classes for two courses. Not because I didn't understand what was going on, but because I missed watching many videos and doing tutorials as I was bored in the first 3-4 classes itself. But this week I had to submit an assignment in one of the courses and in another, I have an open book exam (starting today, due on Sunday). So I had to get myself together. It led to me sitting in front of the Laptop, watching tons of videos, even if I was not interested. But this was only for the first few videos. But the way it all took off from there is nothing short of interesting. I LOVED WATCHING THOSE LECTURES.

One course teaches what Microprocessors are, how they work, how data gets processed, transferred and controlled by them, how to write assembly language code for an existing C code that we already wrote, how to compile it and run it using an emulator on Linux....loved it. This increased my curiosity to learn things related to Computer Science.

Another course was a beast. It was a little difficult to comprehend in the beginning but it nevertheless interested me. This course is an extra one that I'm taking under an initiative called NPTEL. It is called artificial intelligence search methods for problem solving. It has to do with teaching various search algorithms used in AI. This course had me go to YouTube to watch some extra material since I loved what was being taught. That landed me on an amazing channel called Computerphile.

I still have to update my completion status in German, another course that I took. But I'm sure that'll be fun too since I love learning new languages.

New plans

I'm planning to take up writing about what I'm learning, which is mostly an overlap of Electrical engineering and Computer Science. So it falls under the domain of Tech blogs. I'm sure this will help me research my subjects much more and come up with simple explanations to what I'm learning so that it can easily be understood by anyone reading it. I want to make it less focused on too much tech jargon and instead try to come up with ways to make it simple and to the point. Yeah that is one hell of a challenge. But there's no wrong in trying. Maybe I could link each article to a Glossary that explains any jargon that I might use! That'd be great.

Closing thoughts

That was the most random article that I ever wrote I think. This is what happens when I don't have any topic in mind, stare at the blinking cursor for a while and then inevitably end up writing something random😂 Anyways, thanks for reading. See you later. Bye!