I will start writing a post a day!

·

3 min read

Recently, I watched an interview of Seth Godin by Chris Do from “The Futur Academy” on YouTube. I loved the exchange so much that I started taking notes right away ,which I don’t usually do. As the conversation progressed, there came a moment that struck a chord in me.

They started discussing about how the writer’s block is a myth.

Seth goes on to elaborate more and says that when someone says they’re experiencing a writer’s block, what we think they’re saying is “Oh I can’t write now as I don’t seem to find the proper words (or whatever reason)”. But what they actually mean is “Oh! You know what, I can’t write perfectly, so let’s skip writing till I feel I can write perfectly”. This perspective blew my mind! The neurons in my brain went into a frenzy and started showing me numerous instances where I put off writing or starting a blog because I didn’t feel I was perfect. Sometimes I called it the writer’s block, some other times I named it “lack of time”.

This incident made a significant impact on my thoughts. Then I asked myself, Why not start writing? This post is an answer to that question :D So this revelation is actually culminating into something fruitful and that is this challenge that I’m going to take up, to write a post a day. It won’t necessarily be this long, but I’ll write it anyways. I’ll try this for a week and then come back with my lessons. And hopefully continue further!

My background as a writer

Honestly, I have no background as a writer. I am an amateur to say the least. But I can still remember those days in my school when we had ‘Creative writing’ competitions and essay writing in our English class. That was the time when I found myself a new hobby. I thoroughly enjoyed converting my thoughts into sentences using new words. I found that the people around me appreciated me for this. So I kept at it. But after school, I never took the time out to continue exploring this interest. It was not until this revelation that my love for words and expression was reborn, as if in the blink of an eye.

I know this sounds dramatic, but it is what it is🤣

What to write about?

Big question! I will write about things that I’m learning daily about myself and also from the content I’m consuming. It will mostly be in the stream of consciousness style. Sounds fancy right?! It is basically a way of letting your thoughts flow and writing spontaneously rather than stopping to analyze every single word and trying to be a perfectionist.

Closing thoughts

So the challenge starts today and I’m super charged for this. Also another motive behind this is to bring clarity to my thoughts. So I will write for myself and my clarity. But if along the way I help you too, that’d be great to hear about. Thanks for reading till here by the way. Highly appreciated :D