Browser extensions 101 : Helpful resources

Browser extensions 101 : Helpful resources

·

3 min read

Quick intro

About two weeks ago, I started building a browser extension for my side project : Tweekr. After a lot of searching, I've curated a list of resources that have helped me the most.

This post is a list all those resources. I'll keep updating this list as I keep landing on more.

Resources

I found Mozilla's documentation to be more self contained and helpful than Chrome's. This is the first place I go to, if I need to learn something new. Replace the word browser with chrome and you'll end up with a chrome extension. Cool isn't it?

I've included Chrome's docs as well, because why not :)

This is one of the most helpful resources I've come across. Whenever I wanted to understand how to implement something, I could go and see how other developers have done it.

After going through this playlist, I could easily understand the difference between background scripts and content scripts and could create a few simple chrome extensions.

This channel is a treasure house of content related to creating chrome extensions. I learnt about integrating Firebase into a Chrome extension, authenticating users using Firebase's authentication service and much more!!

This one is very underrated in my opinion. I didn't go through the entire playlist but watched a few videos here and there. I learnt about working with context menus and connecting to a database from an extension.

This article is a good primer on creating chrome extensions.

CSS tricks + Sarah Drasner = You can never go wrong :)

This extension shows all the DOM elements on a page in the form of a tree and I think that's extremely helpful while working with DOM injection using content scripts.

This is a gem of a video that shows how to get the source code of any chrome extension. Very helpful to see how developers have coded a feature

Indirect resources

These are not directly related to creating extensions. I referred to them but had to debug and change quite a lot of things to fit my needs. Nevertheless they were very useful

This one is very close to how I've implemented shared authentication between Tweekr's browser extension and web app.

Conclusion

This one is the first article of a series that I'm starting, called "Browser extensions 101", as a part of which I'll be writing posts here and will make a video on YouTube to accompany it. Hope this was useful!

I'll be back with another post next week :)